In my previous post, there was a section called Yes, There Is A Lame Side To This City, in which I failed to mention the biggest drawback from a life Chicago: The Weather.

If you’re like me, and grew up enjoying Colorado’s 300 annual days of sunshine, then it’s hard to imagine living in a place where seeing a blue sky is as common as a Cubs World Series victory (okay, maybe I’m exaggerating). My point is simple: Chicago is a cloudy-ass town, and it takes a while to get used to. After a while, you will simply accept this and happily go about your business as usual, albeit a little more pale.

What you can’t get used to (nor should anybody ever get used to) are the bone-crushing cold temperatures of January and February. I don’t care if you grew up in Nome, or you have Army training in cold weather situations, or you’re Santa Claus, or blah blah blah. There is nothing more defeating than checking the weather report before commuting to a rehearsal and seeing “-27 degrees” on the screen. That’s right, let me spell it out for you: Negative Twenty-Seven.

Somewhere, an arctic polar bear’s balls just shriveled up into his body.

And if you’re somebody who hates humidity, Chicago summers aren’t for you either. Personally, I don’t mind it at all. It makes me feel like I’m in the jungle, and you know how I love a good safari.

My point is, the weather is b-a-n-a-n-a-s. I love Chicago, and will have a hard time leaving this city when I do. But, if pleasant weather is a make-or-break factor in choosing your next place to live, I’d probably look elsewhere.

~JVB

