Stars of the Young Storytellers Program

A few of the stars (the writers) of The Young Storytellers Program walk down the red carpet

 

Dude. What a great day. Got to act in front of a hundred or so elementary school children as part of The Young Storytellers Program. I’m not sure there’s much better in the world than getting to be ridiculous while entertaining a captive audience of 4th – 6th graders. More than that, I was truly impressed by the 10 kids who wrote the mini-plays we got to perform. I mean, seriously, what the heck was I doing at that age? Great work.

Having focussed on film work over the past couple years, it was also a blessing to be back on stage. It served as a very strong reminder of why I went into acting in the first place. The stage will always be a home to me, and I look forward to finding more opportunities to be there in the future. The happiest and most memorable moments in my life have been beneath a proscenium arch, listening to the laughter of a crowd as I did something absurd.

Speaking of which, the highlight of the performance was most certainly my epic, inter-galactic battle between Dr. Doody and myself…Dr. Poopy. While I’m somewhat ashamed to admit that Dr. Doody bested me, the last line of the play reminded everyone that good will always triumph over evil. In other words, evil is poopy.

