My fellow blogger Ben recently wrote about the importance of having a copy of your headshot and resume with you at all times. I’d like to reinforce that mantra with a real life example…

Yesterday at my day job (for those who don’t know, I work as a server at an Italian restaurant), I had a table of two gentlemen come in for lunch. I immediately recognized one of the two as a prominent Chicago theatre director, and my mind began racing.

Do I dare say something? Introduce myself as anything other than their server? Run the risk of ruining their perfectly good lunch by an unwelcome chat about the business?

“Nah, better not,” I thought, opting instead to keep my mouth shut and do my job. Throughout their meal, I overheard them talking about recent shows they’ve seen in Chicago, the state of theatre as an art form, and the commercialization of the American musical. The whole time, I wanted to chime in, but I held my tongue.

Then came the shocker: At the end of their meal, the director actually asked me if I had a headshot and resume I could give him! I was surprised, but answered with a confident “Yes, actually!” I retrieved them from my backpack and handed them both to the director. He explained that he recognized me from an audition that I had given about a year ago. We stood around talking theatre, laughing, and sharing stories for a few minutes before they eventually left.

I don’t know if anything will come of it, or why he even asked for them in the first place, but it felt AWESOME to be able to make the connection!

So actors: ALWAYS be sure to have a copy of your headshot and resume on you wherever you go, even if you think you won’t need it! You never ever know… ๐Ÿ™‚

~JVB

